top of page
Blog: Blog2

Sketchnotes: Design of Everyday Things & HATS

Updated: Oct 7, 2018

Sketch notes for this week:


Design of Everyday Things by Don Norman, Chapter 1




HATS by Richard Saul Wurman



 

I've also recorded the production process of my sketch notes, with an attempt to find an efficient way of reading and note-taking.

The first sketch note (4.2 hrs):

  1. Read text + draft sketches on paper simultaneously

  2. Reorganize and connect points on the draft paper

  3. Put them down on my sketchbook with Sharpie, adding ornaments: spot illustrations, lettering, dividers

Step One: 3 hrs

Step Two & Three: 1.2 hrs


Below are the samples of draft sketches taken during reading.


The second sketch note (3.5 hrs):

  1. Read text, highlight key points, take digital notes in PDF (draw a limited number of raw sketches when inspired)

  2. Review digital notes

  3. Arrange basic layout on my sketchbook with pencil

  4. Sketch with pens

Step One: 2 hrs

Step Two & Three & Four: 1.5 hrs


Although the second method saved time on reading, disadvantage is that I could hardly come up with any prediction of how the page is going to be occupied, even after reviewing my notes. Compared to the second sketch note, my first one is more visual oriented as illustrations are formed in the first place, so I can rearrange them in my head solidly on a 2D canvas rather than a void space. The second method is also limited in terms of capturing inspiration. ( I just couldn't help drawing something during reading.)


Questions asked: Is it really necessary to draft sketches? The truth is the result did turn out to be more structured and the layout more organized. But to what extent did it benefit in synthesizing knowledge in my brain?


As a takeaway of this experiment, for next sketch note, I plan to practice on how to skim text while capturing key points and ideas most salient to me. And reflect more on how my brain memorize things with the help of graphics.


127 views

Commentaires


bottom of page